Former Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu has received a major boost in his bid to become the next Nairobi Governor after IEBC gazetted him among 12 independent candidates in the race to the top county job.

Waititu has been gazette alongside other independent candidates that include; Dr Noah Winja, Otieno Aloys Lavern, Mukundi Mathenge, Munyanya Yassin, Olingo Timothy Ayieko, Njuru Phyllis Wangari, Ogwang Raymond Ndungu, Kiigi Evans Machoka, Lengala David William and Hassan Jimal Ibrahim.

In the same notice, IEBC divulged that five candidates namely; Dennis Waweru, Agnes Kagure, Betty Adhiambo, Alex Kipchirchir and Habib Omar are set to contest for the Jubilee party ticket.

Waititu’s bid to become Nairobi Governor had faced several hurdles owing to the fact that he had been impeached by the Kiambu County Assembly over gross misconduct.

Last week, the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) appeared to have dealt a blow on Waititu’s bid after announcing that leaders lawfully removed from state office cannot content in any election.

"The commission considers a person is disqualified from holding public office if the person has as been dismissed or otherwise removed from office for contravention of Chapter 6 of the Constitution or its enabling legislation, in accordance with Article 75(3) of the Constitution," EACC said.

A few days later, IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati also addressed the issue noting that the commission will vet all candidates, adding that those kicked out of public office over corruption and abuse of office are not eligible to vie.

Following Chebukati’s declaration, Waititu moved to court arguing that he has not been convicted of any offense.

 “As it stands, the applicant in this matter has not been convicted of any crime and has fully complied with all electoral guidelines provided when running for the aforementioned electoral position,” Waititu’s petition read in part.

The Nairobi office became vacant following the impeachment of Sonko.