5:21 PM: Kajiado County Assembly becomes the 7th to pass the BBI Bill. 

5;16 PM: Trans Nzoia Assembly becomes the 6th county to pass the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

12:18 pm Update: West Pokot Assembly becomes the fifth county to pass the BBI Bill after Busia, Homa Bay, Kisumu, and Siaya.

Busia Assembly has become the fourth county to pass the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) Bill after Homa Bay, Kisumu, and Siaya counties.

This comes hours after Uasin Gishu County Assembly speaker David Kiplagat addressed allegations of external influence on the BBI Bill.

MCAs across the political divide asserted their independence, saying they won't vote until there is public participation.

Last week MCAs from the Western region met in Kakamega town to discuss the BBI Bill and the political agenda of the region.

MCAs from Trans Nzoia, Busia, Bungoma, Vihiga, and Kakamega counties were invited to the meeting that was attended by Amani National Congress (ANC) leader Musalia Mudavadi and Cotu Secretary General Francis Atwoli.

Outside Influence

This week Nyeri, Nakuru, Kisii, Migori, Nyamira, Laikipia, Embu, Tharaka Nithi, and Murang’a county are expected to vote on the BBI Bill.

On Thursday, Baringo was the first county to reject the bill during a chaotic session.

The BBI constitutional amendments would increase the size of the Executive by adding a Prime Minister and two deputies, plus 70 constituencies.

It would increase counties' allocations from 15 to 35 percent, though that is already an option in the 2010 Constitution.

Counties have three months for careful consideration but proponents want them to pass it fast for a June referendum.