President Uhuru Kenyatta has been elected as the new chair of the East Africa Community (EAC).

Uhuru was elected on Saturday, where he is expected to lead the regional body for the remainder of his term in office. 

The election was during the virtual 21st ordinary summit of the East African Community Heads of State that was held on Saturday. 

During the session, Bururndi's President Evariste Ndayishimiye was chosen as the EAC rapporteur.

Previously, the seat was held by Rwanda President Paul Kagame whose term ended on February 27. The seat is usually held on a rotational basis between the member countries. 

Kenya's Dr. Peter Mutuku Mathuki was appointed as the new Secretary-General of the community for a five-year term. Mutuku's tenure will begin on April 25.

During the summit, member states also issued a progress report of the EAC ministers for the period of 2019 to 2020. 

The leaders discussed the progress of admitting Somalia into the EAC and the appointment of the new Secretary-General and judges to the East African Court of Justice.

The leaders also discussed a Summit Directive to include French as an official language of the EAC and report on the Roadmap for the Accelerated Integration of the Republic of South Sudan into the EAC. 

Current member states include Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.