The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has set a date for by-elections in Garissa, Juja, Bonchari and Rurii Ward.

This proceeds the untimely demise of representatives for the said regions. Garissa will be seeking to elect a new senator after the death of veteran politician Yusuf Haji.

Bonchari and Juja will seek to elect new members of parliament after the deaths of MPS Oroo Oyioka and Francis Waititu.

"By-elections for member of Senate Garissa County, Members of National Assembly Bonchari and Juja Constituencies and Member of Nyandarua County Assembly for Rurii Ward are scheduled for May 18, 2021," the gazette notice read in part.

File image of late Garissa Senator Yusuf Haji. |Photo| Courtesy|

IEBC directed political parties in the country intending to contest the by-elections to submit the names of contestants and dates of the party primaries on or before March 8.

"A public officer who intends to contest in the by-elections shall resign from office within seven days of the declaration of the vacancy by the speaker," the notice adds.

IEBC will proceed to publish the names of contestants in party primaries in a gazette notice and the date of the party primaries set for seven days after the receipt of the names.

Candidates wishing to contest the elections as independent candidates shall not have been members of any political party at least 3 months immediately before the date of the by-elections.

"Political parties intending to present candidates for this elections shall after its primaries resolve all intra party disputes and submit the names of nominees to the commission on or before Monday, March 22, 2021," the gazette notice reads in part.

Independent candidates are required to submit their names and the symbols they intend to use in the by-elections to IEBC on or before March 8. Their names and symbols shall be gazetted 14 days after the date of presentation.

The commission directed that all disputes arising from party nominations be resolved before April 9.

IEBC set the period between March 29 and May 15 as the campaign window, leading up to the May 18 by-election.

The commission warned that any person guilty of an election offence will be liable to penalties imposed by the Election Offences Act, 2016, the disqualifications imposed thereof and the Constitution of Kenya.

File image of IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati. |Photo| Courtesy|