Inspector General of Police Hillary Mutyambai is going after Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei, MPs Didmus Barasa, Wilson Kogo and Nelson Koech who were arrested on Thursday for allegedly intimidating voters.

He ordered that the firearm licenses of the four parliamentarians be suspended and the guns surrendered to the DCI headquarters for ballistic examination.

The four were accused of misusing their firearms during the by-election.

“The IG has instructed Police commanders of jurisdictions where by-elections were carried out to arraign and charge the four (4) leaders who were arrested yesterday," Mutyambai's statement read.

Law & Order

"The IG has equally instructed the Firearm Licensing Board to suspend firearm licenses held by the said Political leaders who misused their firearms. The affected individuals are hereby instructed to surrender the firearms to DCI Headquarters with immediate effect for ballistic examination,” it continued.

According to police, the suspects were driving around polling stations in vehicles that had weapons in the cars.

Mutyambai had earlier ordered former Sports Cabinet Secretary Rashid Echesa to surrender to authorities before 1pm on Friday.

He warned leaders of dire consequences when they break the law.