The National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) has summoned lawmakers over violent events that witnessed during last week's by-elections in various parts of the country.

NCIC Chairman Rev. Dr Samuel Kobia named over 10 lawmakers who are wanted over political intolerance.

Dr Kobia named Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, MPs Gladys Wanga, Aisha Jumwa and Nominated Senator Millicent Omanga.

Others are MPs Faisal Bader (Msambweni), John Waluke (Sirisia), Ben Washiali (Mumias East), Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Charles Were (Kasipul), Fred Kapondi (Mt Elgon).


Kobia said the lawmakers are expected to appear before the commission on Monday to answer on the roles they played during the chaos.

“Allow me to speak on my own behalf as chair of NCIC and as an elder in our country. This is my promise to the purveyors of hate. I will ensure that you are in jail and as you wait to go to jail, I will put you out of the leadership of this country,” Kobia said.

“One does not need to be a prophet to realise that some of our politicians are committed to attaining their desires at the cost of Kenyan lives,” he added.

Kobia announced that the NCIC has written to the EACC to seeking legal orders from the Judiciary to remove leaders who break the law from office.