Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji approved charges against eight individuals and two companies accused of embezzling Ksh103,391,910.

In a statement on Thursday, the DPP noted the money was meant for the solar electrification of public primary schools by the Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation.

The suspects are accused of conspiracy to commit an offence of corruption, abuse of office, willful failure to comply with the law applicable to procurement and fraudulent acquisition of public property.

EACC also confirmed the arrests of 4 of the suspects while the hunt for the remaining 4 and owners of the two companies is ongoing.


The eight include; Nofatos Munyu (Former CEO), James Muriithi (Head of Renewable Energy), Joel Omusembe (Head of Procurement), Simon Kirui (Economist) and Abdirahman Dakane (Director Nav World Limited).

Others are Abdi Majid (Director Nav World Limited), Hassan Sheikh Mohammed (Director North Pride Limited) and Fatuma Abdi Hassan (Director North Pride Limited).

Detectives are also looking into two companies North Pride Limited and Nav World Limited.

Nofatos Munyu, James Muriithi, Joel Omusembe and Simon Kirui were arrested on Thursday.