President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced new curfew hours in Nairobi, Machakos, Kiambu, Kajiado, and Nakuru counties.

According to the President, effective today midnight, curfew will commence at 8 pm to 4 am in the above-mentioned counties.

He, however, noted that the remaining 42 counties will continue with the current curfew timelines.

While announcing the new curfew hours, the President directed the Ministry of Interior to review protocols for issuing curfew passes.

"The Ministry of Interior and Health are directed to review protocols of re-issuance of curfew passes and exemptions. In the intervening period, all issued passes are vacated," he said.

In addition to the measures above, the President also directed that there will be no physical meetings in the said counties

The Head of State also directed the in person worship congregation has been suspended in the counties until otherwise. Other counties shall continue in accordance with the set guidelines.

Physical learning across the country has been suspended immediately other than candidates sitting for exams and those in training at medical institutions.

Operation of bars in the 5 counties and the sale of alcohol in the counties has been banned. Restaurants and hotels will only provide takeaways. In other counties, they shall continue but follow MoH guidelines.