The government has extended the timeline for Kenyans wishing to move in and out of the five zoned counties.

Government Spokesperson Colonel Cyrus Oguna announced that Kenyans have until 8pm on Sunday, March 28, 2021 to move in and out of Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu, Kajiado and Machakos counties.

President Uhuru Kenyatta on March 26, issued an order locking the five counties due to the surging number of Covid-19 cases reported in the country.

Government Spokesman Cyrus Oguna issuing an update on coronavirus at Kenyatta National Hospital on Saturday, March 14, 2020. |Photo |Courtesy|

The five counties have recorded the most positive COvid-19 cases since the start of the third wave of the pandemic.

"If you found yourself locked out of the 5 zoned counties, or locked in there, and would like to move, you have a transition period to do so until tomorrow curfew time (Sunday 8p.m.)," Oguna stated.

Following the issuance of the order by President Kenyatta yesterday, members of the public rushed to beat the initial deadline of midnight March 26.

Public Service Vehicles yesterday evening experienced an influx of passengers wishing to travel in and out of the five counties, for fears of being locked down in them.

The extension will allow Kenyans who had travelled in and out of the counties for personal and official reasons to settle back to their bases.

The Ministries of Interior and Education have announced that they will facilitate the safe passage and return home for candidates sitting for the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) exams.