The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has responded to a decision by the United Kingdom to add Kenya to its red list over the corona virus pandemic.

On Friday, UK noted that effective 9, April 2021, persons from Kenya or who have transited through Kenya will not be allowed entry into the country.

According to the UK government, the decision is aimed at preventing potentially vaccine-resistant variants of Covid-19 from coming to the UK.

“There are new restrictions for entering the UK from Kenya. From 0400 UK time on 9 April, visitors who have been in or transited through Kenya in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England.

"British, Irish and third-country nationals with residence rights arriving from these countries will be required to quarantine in a Government-approved facility for 10 days,” said the Statement.

Responding to the UK government, Kenya’s Ministry of foreign affairs termed the decision as unfortunate, and announced new measures for persons entering Kenya through the UK.

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs effective April 9, 2021, any UK national, or foreigner entering Kenya through the UK will be required to quarantine for 14 days at selected facilities and at their own cost.

“All passengers originating from or transiting through UK airports will now be required to go through mandatory 14-day isolation at a government-designated facility at their own cost upon entry into Kenya," stated the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The ministry, however, noted that Kenyans citizens entering the country through the UK will be exempted.