Kenya and the United Kingdom have agreed to set up a joint emergency committee to address Covid-19 travel restrictions.

On Wednesday the Foreign Affairs Ministry said that Cabinet Secretary Raychelle Omamo and her UK counterpart Dominic Raab had agreed to work together.

In a series of Tweets, Foreign Affairs Kenya stated: "@ForeignOfficeKE Cabinet Secretary Amb Raychelle Omamo today held positive deliberations with the UK Foreign Secretary @DominicRaab. They agreed on the establishment of a Joint Emergency Committee to address COVID-19 Emergency travel restrictions."

It continued: "CS Amb Omamo and @DominicRaab underlined the need to work on strengthening trade and deepening regional security."

A raft of issues the two countries are expected to address include Covid-19 testing before passengers head to the UK and vice versa, vaccines, flight between the two countries, and cargo. 

Last week the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has responded to a decision by the United Kingdom to add Kenya to its red list over the coronavirus pandemic.

Diplomatic Row

On Friday, UK noted that effective 9, April 2021, persons from Kenya or who have transited through Kenya will not be allowed entry into the country.

According to the UK government, the decision is aimed at preventing potentially vaccine-resistant variants of Covid-19 from coming to the UK.

“There are new restrictions for entering the UK from Kenya. From 0400 UK time on 9 April, visitors who have been in or transited through Kenya in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England.

"British, Irish, and third-country nationals with residence rights arriving from these countries will be required to quarantine in a Government-approved facility for 10 days,” said the Statement.

Responding to the UK government, Kenya’s Ministry of foreign affairs termed the decision as unfortunate and announced new measures for persons entering Kenya through the UK.

“All passengers originating from or transiting through UK airports will now be required to go through mandatory 14-day isolation at a government-designated facility at their own cost upon entry into Kenya," stated the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.