Royal Media Services (RMS) Managing Director (MD) Wachira Waruru has stepped down as Media Owners Association (MOA) Chairman after serving for three years.

Waruru who was elected chair of the association in 2018 will be replaced by Nation Media Group CEO Stephen Gitagama.

MOA is an association that brings together media owners and senior industry executives.

Prior to taking the role in 2018, Waruru had served as the chairperson of the Media Council of Kenya.

Meanwhile, the Kenya Editor’s Guild (KEG) recently conducted its election where top media players were elected to various seats in the organization.

Nation Media Group Head of Development and Learning Churchill Otieno was elected KEG president unopposed.

KTN senior anchor Zubeida Koome was elected the vice president, Citizen TV’s Joseph Bonyo was elected council member for TV.

Ruth Nesoba was elected council member for radio, Linda Bach was elected council member for print while University of Nairobi’s Prof. George Nyabuga was elected council member for academia.

The Kenya Editors' Guild is the professional association for editors in Kenya, including senior print, broadcast, and online editors, and scholars of journalism and media studies.

KEG’s main roles are to defend and promote media freedom and editorial independence, promote quality and ethical journalism and to provide a forum for sharing ideas and experiences that are critical in and for the media.