The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has declared Jubilee Party’s Mung’ara Joseph Githinji as the MCA-Elect for Muguga Ward.

IEBC declared Githinji the winner after he secured 4,089 votes.

UDA Party’s Thumbi Peter Kamau finished a close second with 4,062 votes. The other contestants; Mumbi Moses Gichau and Mugo Peter Njoro finished third and fourth respectively with 49 and 32 votes each.

The by-election was highly contested with Jubilee and UDA parties channeling massive resources in what was seen as a supremacy battle between President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

With the win, Jubilee has silenced critics who argued that it has lost its grip in the Central Kenya region.