The 54 Tea Factory Companies managed by the Kenya Tea Development Agency Management Services Limited (KTDA-MS) will starting today issue farmers with bonus payments for the financial year ending on June 30, 2020.

The Authority on Thursday in a press statement said tea bonuses will be available in all farmers' respective bank accounts starting today, Friday, October 23, 2020.

KTDA says, for this year, farmers will receive higher earnings than in 2019. The total payment for the year will be Ksh51.85 billion; up from Ksh46.48 billion last year.

This year’s total payment represents 11.6% increase from last year. 

Below is how the total payments are distributed across the regions growing tea.

    Bomet County - KShs 6.42 billion         Kericho  Couty - KShs 4.94 billion

    Embu County -  KShs 3 billion               Kiambu County - KShs 4.92 billion

    Kirinyaga County - KShs 5.39 billion     Kisii County -   KShs 1.98 billion

    Meru County -   KShs 5.79 billion          Murang’a County - KShs 9.8 billion

   Nandi - KShs 1.11 billion                           NyamiraKShs 3.40 billion

   Nyeri -  KShs 3.54 billion                        Tharaka Nithi - KShs 881 million

   Trans Nzoia - KShs 241 million               Vihiga County - KShs 430 million

According to the authority, there was growth in green tea production due to favourable weather conditions in the tea growing areas.

The volume of made tea produced by the factories increased to 326 million kilograms (kgs) for the year, up from 267 million kgs in 2019.