The Political Parties Amendment Bill 2021 dubbed the Coalition Bill was passed by the Senate on the night of Wednesday, January 26, 2022.

The bill was passed after lawmakers allied to President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga outvoted those allied to Deputy President William Ruto.

Senators allied to the DP who voted against the bill were less than 10.

Pro-handshake senators who voted in favour of the bill were 28 whereas those who opposed the bill were 3. 

Uhuru, Raila senators managed to shoot down all 15 amendments that were proposed to the bill, a majority by allies of the deputy president.

Senators Irungu Kang'áta (Murang'a), Petronila Were (Nominated), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Enoch Wambua (Kitui), Samson Cheragei (Nandi) and Isaac Mwaura (Nominated) were some of the lawmakers who filed amendments to the bill.

Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen termed the bill as "terrible, hopeless and useless" while warning his fellow senators of supporting it.

He argued that the powers awarded to the Registrar of Political Parties were dictatorial and unconstitutional.

In his proposal, Murkomen sought to have the entire clause 22 of the amendment bill deleted.

“The elections under the Constitution, is a function of IEBC, unfortunately, because some people want to micromanage political parties, they have given RPP the responsibility to manage political parties in terms of verifying registers and giving specific timelines,” protested Murkomen.

Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka will now write to his National Assembly counterpart Justin Muturi informing him of their determination after which the bill will be sent to President Kenyatta for assent.