President Uhuru Kenyatta has directed his Cabinet Members and other civil servants seeking elective seats in the August 9, elections to resign.

In a notice by the Head of Public service Joseph Kinyua, the Officers have been directed to vacate office by February 8, a day before the legal date set by IEBC for government officers to leave office.

{President Uhuru Kenyatta shakes hands with the head of public service Joseph Kinyua. Image: Courtesy}

"In that regard, as set out of the Gazette Notice Number 430/1/2/3/4/5 of 2oth January 2022, such non-exempted state officers and public officers are required to vacate office on or before 8th February 2022," the notice dated January 28 reads.

The officers are required to hand over all public assets under their charge and to prepare comprehensive hand-over notes to facilitate a smooth transition and hand-over, which should be received by the officer managing them.

Cabinet Secretaries Chief Administrative Secretaries, Chairperson of Constitutional Commission, Principal Secretaries and Chairperson of State Cooperations are required to hand over assets to the Executive Office of the President.

CEOs of the constitutional commissions are to hand over to the Chairpersons of the constitutional commission.

Chief Executive officers of State corporations and state agencies should hand over to cabinet secretaries of the parent ministries with a copy to the board of the chairperson.

The rest of the public officers will hand it over to their respective supervisors.