Editor's Review

Cherera resigned after President Ruto suspended her and three other commissioners from office.

IEBC Chair Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera has resigned.

Cherera resigned in a letter to President William Ruto in which she informed him of her exit.

"It is with immense woe that today I tender my resignation as commissioner and vice chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission," reads the letter in part.

"As vice chairperson, I always advocated for fair treatment and equal opportunity for all staff. After careful consideration of the current events at the commission and with consultation with my family and lawyers, I accept that my stay at the commission is no longer tenable and therefore choose to vacate."

This comes two days after commissioner Justus Nyang'aya quit office.

The two resigned after President William Ruto suspended them from office and formed a tribunal to probe their conduct in the August 9, polls.

Other suspended from office are commissioners Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi.

The two were suspended after the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of the National Assembly proposed to the president they be removed from office temporarily and a tribunal be formed to probe them.

From R-L: Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Masit and Justus Nyang'aya. PHOTO | FILE

The four commissioners disowned the results that were announced by IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati.

While resigning last week, Nyang'aya said:

“It is with a heavy heart that I tender my resignation as a commissioner of the IEBC effective today (Friday),” Nyang'aya said in a letter to President William Ruto.

President William Ruto on Friday formed a five-member committee that will probe the suspended commissioners.

It will be chaired by High Court Judge Aggrey Muchelule, with the lead counsel Peter Munge Murage being a member of the tribunal.

"The mandate of the Tribunal shall be to consider the Petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein," the President said in a gazette notice.