Editor's Review

Tellingly, nearly all the MPs who graced the meeting missed Raila's Sunday Kibra rally.

President William Ruto on Tuesday morning held what his close handlers termed as a key meeting with 9 Luo Nyanza MPs at State House, Nairobi. 

Also present at the meeting was Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua.

The meeting, coming hot on the heels of Raila Odinga's sustained onslaught against the Ruto regime, has raised eyebrows about what the President could be planning.

"Leaders must join hands, foster coexistence and work together in confronting the challenges facing our country. They must endeavour to lead by example and serve the interest of the people. This is a sure route to a more united and developed Kenya. At State House, Nairobi held a consultative meeting with MPs from Nyanza following a recent visit to the region," Ruto stated after the meeting

Though Ruto described the meeting as consultative in nature, sources aware of it confided to Nairobi Leo that the meeting was more of a political strategy aimed at taming Raila.

Lang'ata MP Phelix Odiwuor was among the MPs who met President William Ruto and his deputy Rigathi Gachagua. PHOTO | PCS

"The 9 ODM MPs from Nyanza pledged to support President Ruto in the meeting at the State House. They say they want service delivery and not politics," a source told Nairobi Leo.

Tellingly, nearly all the MPs who graced the meeting missed Raila's Sunday Kibra rally where he continued with his aggressive push to demonise and delegitimise the president.

A few weeks ago, the President held a similar meeting with Jubilee-elected leaders at the State House.

Though the meeting was dubbed consultative too, the attendees, who were all elected Jubilee MPs, ended up declaring allegiance to Ruto's presidency even as others distanced themselves from Raila's protests.

Could the latest meeting with Luo Nyanza MPs be the proverbial case of the same script and same cast? Definitely, time will tell.

Some of the MPs who attended the meeting are Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda, Lang'ata MP Phelix Odiwuor alias Jalang'o, Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Caroli Omondi (Suba South) and Shakeel Shabir (Kisumu East)