Editor's Review

Raila's directive comes a day after President Ruto met nine ODM MPs from Nyanza at State House. 

Azimio la Umoja leader Raila Odinga has told the eight ODM Members of parliament who met President Ruto at State Hous to resign and seek a fresh mandate from the electorate.

Speaking on Thursday during the Azimio Parliamentary Group meeting in Machakos, the former premier stated that it was unethical for the MPs to defect to a coalition that they ran against.

“These members who have defected from Azimio coalition need to resign from their positions and go,” Raila directed.

The opposition chief slammed the MPs’ move to meet President Ruto at State House over development issues.

“Members of Parliament are approaching the executive supposedly for development in their constituencies. Under the current constitutional dispensation, the resources are being allocated by parliament. Parliament is the one that the executive comes with a budget proposal, parliament looks at it and then agrees on how to allocate resources,” Raila stated.

File image of President Ruto with ODM MPs.

He further noted that Azimio members should seek permission from the coalition leadership before meeting the President.

“If you want to go and talk about issues that affect the party you must be given permission by the party before you go to see the President,” Raila added.

His directive come a day after President Ruto met with the nine Nyanza MPs at State House.

The MPs included; Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Mark Nyamita (Uriri), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), Shakeel Shabir (Kisumu East, Independent), Paul Abuor (Rongo), John Owino (Awendo) and Tom Ojienda (Kisumu).