Editor's Review

The MPs are said to have been taken away to an unknown place.

A section of Azimio MPs was Monday teargassed at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre where they had converged for demonstrations.

The MPs led by Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna, Minority Whip Stewart Madzayo, Mishi Mboko, Peter Kalerwa Salasya and many others stormed the KICC for the protests accompanied by a fraction of their supporters.

Azimio La Umoja supporters storm KICC

The MP converged to address the press conference during which they condemned the police accusing them of throwing teargas canisters at them as they peacefully walked to KICC.

Nairobi Leo has learned that Senator Madzayo has been arrested alongside Malindi MP Amina Mnyazi.

The MPs are said to have been taken away to an unknown place.

Suna East MP Junet Mohamed was denied access to KICC as the rest of his colleagues were teargassed.

Jeevanjee Gardens where a section of Azimio supporters were to converge remained deserted.

This is after armed police officers took over the area and restricted access to the members of the public.

There had been reports that Azimio leaders would hold a rally there before proceeding to the State House for their mass action.

Already several demonstrators have been arrested along City Hall Way and Wabera Streets in Nairobi's CBD.

Nairobi police commander boss Adamson Bungei on Sunday declared Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance Monday protest illegal.

Bungei said the protest will not be allowed as it does not meet the threshold.