Editor's Review

  • The bill has already been passed by three county assemblies.
  • For a constitutional change to happen, the bill needs to be passed by 24 county assemblies. 

The BBI Bill is currently undergoing scrutiny in various county assemblies ahead of the voting.

The voting is seeking to pave way for the referendum slated for June this year.

Already, some counties have completed public participation with a majority expected to vote this week. Here is a list of assemblies that will determine the future of BBI.

1. Nyeri

2. Nakuru

3. Kisii

4. Migori

5. Naymira

6. Laikipia

7. Embu ‘

8. Tharaka Nithi

9. Murang’a

Ahead of the vote, leaders from different regions are believed to have made efforts to woo MCAs into supporting the bill. 

For a referendum to happen, at least 24 county assemblies should pass the bill.

Already, Kisumu, Homa Bay, and Siaya have already passed the bill.

On Thursday, Baringo was the first county to reject the bill during a chaotic session.

The BBI constitutional amendments would increase the size of the Executive by adding a Prime Minister and two deputies, plus 70 constituencies. It would increase counties' allocations from 15 to 35 percent, though that is already an option in the 2010 Constitution.

Ahead of the vote, regional political kingpins are under pressure as a number of assemblies are aligning public participation and debate on the BBI bill this week.

Counties have three months for careful consideration but proponents want them to pass it fast for a June referendum.

According to political pundits, the BBI outcome has a bearing on the political grip of leaders, especially in areas where Deputy President William Ruto has called BBI a waste of time and money.