Editor's Review

FORD-Kenya emerged victorious in Kabuchai Constituency after their candidate Majimbo Kalasinga won by a landslide beating United Democratic Alliance's (UDA) Evans Kaikai.

FORD-Kenya stamped their authority in Kabuchai Constituency, Bungoma County after their candidate Majombo Kalasinga won by a landslide.

The parliamentary elect was declared the winner of the March 4 by-election after he garnered 19,274 votes, totalling to 56 percent of the total votes.

UDA's Evans Kaikai came second clinching 6,455 votes. Amos Wekesa of the Federal Party of Kenya was third with 1,454 votes and Dr. Gasper Wafubwa came fourth with 1,236 votes. 

Kalasinga's win was declared by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer, Benson Esuza. 

Kabuchai MP Elect Majimbo Kalasinga and FORD-Kenya Party leader Moses Wetangula. |Photo| Courtesy|

London Ward.

Elsewhere UDA Candidate Anthony Nzuki was on March 5, 2021 declared the winner of the London Ward by-election after he garnered 1,707 votes.

Nzuki was closely followed by Jubilee's Francis Njoroge who came second with 1,385 votes.

Other candidates included Joseph Kariuki (35), Kariuki Bernard Maina (91), Joseph Nthabo (2), Mbugua Peter (12), Caroline Nyaboke (42), Muiruri Wangui (70), Eric Namu (5), Joseph Kimani (1), Sylvester Barasa (5) and Bravian Wairimu (11).

Huruma Ward.

Jubilee Candidate Lucy Ngendo was declared the winner of the mini poll after clinching 2,498 votes.

Hell's Gate Ward

Jubilee clinched their second win of the day after their candidate fended off competition from other parties to win the seat.

Virginia Wamathai was declared the winner of the by-election with a total of 3,955 votes. UDA's Warothe Kuria came second with 2,742 votes.

Kiamokama Ward

ODM's Malachi Matara was elected the new MCA for Kiamokama Ward in Kisii County after he garnered 1,907 votes.

Daniel Ondabu, Party of Economic Development (PED) came second with 1,257 votes while The New Democrats (TND)'s Stephen Nyakeriga came third with 1,004 votes.

Kitese Kithuki Ward

Kalonzo Musyoka-led Wiper-Kenya Party bagged their first win of the day when their candidate Sebastian Muli garnering 3,b92 votes in the Kitese-Kithuki Ward by-election.

Muli won the election by a landslide with Muungano Party's Joseph Kioko coming second with 878 votes.

As at the time of publishing, vote tallying was still underway in Matungu Constituency.