Editor's Review

President Uhuru Kenyatta has suspended operation of bars in five counties indefinitely following the rise in Covid-19 cases in the country.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has suspended the operation of bars in Nairobi, Nakuru, Kajiado, Machakos and Kiambu indefinitely.

The Head of State issued the order as a measure to curb the rising cases of Covid-19 in the country, with the five counties registering the highest number of cases.

"Operations of bars is suspended in the Counties of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru. Similarly, the sale of alcohol in restaurants and eateries in the five (5) Counties is prohibited, until further notice," President Kenyatta stated.

He moved to further restrict the operation of restaurants and eateries in the five counties to only issue take away services.

"The operations of bars, restaurants and eateries in the other forty-two (42) Counties shall continue as is, but they shall at all times be conducted in strict fidelity to Ministry of Health Guidelines, failure to which appropriate action against management, staff, patrons, and premises shall be taken," he added.

The announcement by the Head of State comes at time the country has recorded an increase in Covid-19 cases, as health officials warn of the third wave.