Editor's Review

  • Travellers from Kenya have been banned from England.

Kenya has been added to the United Kingdom “red list” of countries from which almost all travel is banned.

According to the UK government, this new list is to prevent potentially vaccine-resistant variants of Covid-19 from coming to the UK.

“There are new restrictions for entering the UK from Kenya. From 0400 UK time on 9 April, visitors who have been in or transited through Kenya in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England.

Red List

"British, Irish and third-country nationals with residence rights arriving from these countries will be required to quarantine in a Government-approved facility for 10 days,” said the Statement.

England's government have rejected the idea of widening the list to include European countries such as France and Germany.

The new list included Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan and the Philippines who were added to the list at 4 am on Friday 9 April.

“The government has made it consistently clear it will take decisive action if necessary to contain the virus and has added these destinations to the red list to protect public health,” the statement read in part.