Editor's Review

Their exit now means the coalition agreement signed between the founding members and the parties is null and void.

The Confirmation Notice of Existence of a Coalition Party in the name of Kenya Kwanza Alliance has locked out three key parties from being members of the outfit.

Pamoja African Alliance Party led by Kilifi Governor Amason Kingi and his Machakos Counterpart Alfred Mutua's MCC party have been locked out of the coalition owing to the coalition agreement signed with the Azimio La Umoja Coalition.

The two parties having signed an agreement with Azimio meant that they could not exit the coalition six months before the election.

The agreement signed also barred them from exiting Azimio before three months lapse after an election.

{Registrar of Parties Anne Nderitu. IMAGE: COURTESY}

Speaker Justin Muturi and his DP Party are also out of Kenya Kwanza Alliance.

Political Parties Tribunal ruled that the coalition agreement signed between Speaker Muturi and Kenya Kwanza is illegal since members of the party were not consulted.

The position of Muturi as Party leader was also quashed by the tribunal.

According to the notice by the registrar of parties Anne Nderitu, Kenya Kwanza Alliance is made of three founding members and 8 partners.

Key members are Deputy President William Ruto-led UDA, ANC party of Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetangula's Ford Kenya.

Other parties are the TSP party of Mwangi Kiunjuri, Chama Cha Kazi Party of Moses Kuria, Communist Party of Kenya, Economic Freedom Party, Farmers Party, Tujibebe Party of William Kabogo, Umoja na Maendeleo Party and Devolution Party of Kenya.