Editor's Review

The National Assembly lost a total of six MPs in 2020 and 2021.

The 12th Parliament could go down in history as one that recorded the highest number of deaths of sitting MPs.

A total of 10 Members of the National Assembly members died during the tenure of the 12th Parliament.

Kitui West MP Francis Nyenze was first to die on December 6, 2017.

Next was Baringo South Member of Parliament FGrace Kipchoim who died on April 20, 2018.

Kenyans also lost youthful fibre MP Ken Okoth who died on July 26, 2019.

The year 2020 was among the worst-hit years for the National Assembly as the of the 10 died.

They include Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori (March 9, 2020), Matungu's Justus Murunga (November 14, 2020), and Kabuchai's James Lusweti Mukwe (December 4, 2020).

The National Assembly equally lost three MPs in 2021. They include Bonchari MP Oroo Onyonka ( February 16, 2021), Juja's  Francis Munyua Waititu (February 21, 2021) and Kiamba's Paul Koinange (March 31, 2021.

In 2021, the national assembly so far lost one MP: the Rabai legislature William Kamoti who died on May 29, 2022.