Editor's Review

Senate Speaker Amason Kingi has announced the Majority Leader for the Senate.

Senate Speaker Amason Kingi has named Kericho Senator Aaron Cheruiyot as the Senate Majority Leader.

In a special sitting on Tuesday, October 4, the Senate Speaker further declared that Cheruiyot will be deputized by Nakuru Senator Tabitha Karanja.

Kingi also named Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale as the Senate Majority Whip, who will be deputized by Samburu Senator Ltumbesi Lelegwe.

Kilifi Senator Steward Madzayo was named the Senate Minority Leader and will be deputized by Kitui Senator Enock Wambua.

Senate proceedings.

In the Minority Whip position, Kingi named Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dullo, who will be deputized by Narok Senator Ledama Olekina. 

The new senate leadership was named after the Senate held its first plenary sitting with the first item on the agenda being the approval of senators to serve in the Senate Business Committee (SBC).

"The role of the SBC is to among others, prepare if necessary, adjust the Senate calendar with the approval of the Senate; monitor and oversee the implementation of the Senate Business and legislative Programmes," read a statement by the Senate.

The was also to debate on President William Ruto's address during the opening of the 13th Parliament delivered on 29th September, 2022.