Editor's Review

President William Ruto has nominated 51 people for the positions of Principal Secretaries in different State departments.

President William Ruto on Wednesday, November 2, announced 51 principal secretary nominees after the shortlisting by the Public Service Commission. 

In a press statement by State House Chief of Staff Felix Koskei, the names of the 51 nominees had already been submitted to the National Assembly for consideration.

However, in a closer look at the appointments made by the president, notable public figures who had been shortlisted were missing from the list.

Former nominated Member of Parliament David Ole Sankok, an ardent supporter of the president, was missing from the list after sailing through to the final shortlist.

Outgoing IEBC Commissioner Boya Molu as well as IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati's wife Mary Chebukati were also missing from the list.

David Ole Sankok.

Other names that were missing from the final list by the president were former nominated senator Isaac Mwaura, former Acting Health Director Patrick Amoth, and Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) Mercy Mwangangi.

Former Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa and former Samburu Governor Moses Lenolkulal also missed out on the president's appointments.

PSC had shortlisted 585 candidates and submitted their names to the president. 9154 candidates who applied for the positions.

However, the Head of State rewarded some of his loyalists in the appointments released on Wednesday.

They included former Lang'ata MP Nixon Korir, former Nairobi County Deputy Governor Jonathan Mueke among others.