Editor's Review

The by-elections will be held on January 5, 2023.

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party has unveiled its candidates for the Kandara MP and Elgeyo Marakwet senatorial by-elections.

The two seats fell vacant following the appointment of their holders into President William Ruto's Cabinet.

Alice Wahome who had been re-elected the Kandara MP resigned to take up the Water docket, with Kipchumba Murkomen who had been re-elected Elgeo Marakwet for the third term, resigning to take up the Transport and Public Works ministry.

The duo was elected on the UDA party tickets.

Ahead of the mini-polls slated for January next year, the ruling party undertook primaries in the elective areas on Saturday, November 26.

In Elgeyo Marakwet, William Kipsang' edged over his rivals to clinch the party ticket ahead of the contest.

William Kipsang' won the UDA party ticket in Elgeyo Marakwet. Photo: Courtesy.

Kipsang' garnered 28,126 votes to trounce his close rivals Tim Kipchumba and Jonah Tanui, who secured 26,756 and 26,735 votes respectively.

In the Kandara constituency, Chege Njuguna secured the ruling party's ticket after garnering 7,826 votes in the primaries.

Chege Njuguna garnered 7,826 votes to clinch the UDA ticket for the Kandara MP by-election. Photo: Courtesy.