Editor's Review

The Head of State has appointed 20 new judges to serve in the High Court.

President William Ruto has appointed 20 new judges to serve in the High Court of Kenya.

In a gazette notice dated December 5, the Head of State approved the names of the judges in exercise of the powers conferred by the constitution.

"In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 166 (1) (b) of the Constitution of Kenya, I. William Samoei Ruto, President, and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint (these judges) to be Judges of the High Court of Kenya," read part of the gazette notice.

The 20 judges are as follows:

Gichohi Patricia Njeri

Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua

Senior Counsel Nyaundi Patricia Mande

Kavedza Diana Rachel

Chirchir Sophie Chebet

Prof. Sifuna Nixon Wanyama

Shariff Mwanaisha Saida

Nyaga Heston Mbogo

Chigiti John Mugwimi

Mulwa Peter Mutua

Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi

Mutai Gregory

Wananda John Robert Anuro

Mohochi Samwel Mukira

Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo

Githiru Freda Mugambi

Magare Dennis Kizito Ng'wono

Macharia Florence Wangari

Odera Teresa Achieng

VisramAleem Alnshir

President Ruto with Chief Justice Martha Koome.

The appointments come after the Head of State clarified that he had not captured the judiciary by attending many of its functions.

President Ruto on Monday, during the launch of the National Council on the Administration of Justice (NCAJ) annual report, said that he was supporting the judiciary to ensure that it delivers justice effectively to Kenyans.

"I know there’s a discussion as to why I appear in too many of the functions of the judiciary. They can confirm to you that I have never put a telephone call to anybody to ask them to do nothing. My support for the judiciary is so that they can effectively deliver justice to the people of Kenya," the president said.