Editor's Review

Several elected leaders ditched the Azimio camp to join Ruto's Kenya Kwanza after the August 9, polls.

The results of the August 9 presidential election came as a shocker to many.- 

Many billed the polls as one that Azimio's Presidential candidate Raila Oding will win easily owing to the fact that he enjoyed the backing of the state. 

But to the surprise of many Kenyans, current President William Ruto managed to trounce Raila and won the seat with paltry 200,000 votes.

The victory was so devastating to the Azimio supporters including elected leaders.

The loss made a section of leaders elected on party tickets affiliated with Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Alliance shift camp and support President William Ruto's side.

Here are some of the Azimio elected leaders who shifted camp to back Ruto:

Tiaty MP William Kamket

Even before the verdict of the supreme court petition was out, William Kamket had already met President William Ruto and declared himself his footsoldier.

Kamket was elected on a Kanu party ticket led by former Baringo Senator Gideon Moi.

He was among the Kanu leaders who were vocal in campaigning against President Ruto. The Tiaty MP now seats on the government side of the National Assembly and he even refused to be associated with the opposition.

Ali Roba

Mandera Senator-elect Ali Roba leads his UDM party members to the Kenya Kwanza alliance on August 18, 2022.PHOTO | COURTESY

The former Mandera Governor also shifted camp even before the Supreme Court of Kenya upheld Ruto's victory.

The UDM party leader ditched Azimio three days after Chebukati declared Ruto the Winner of the August 9 poll.

He also decamped to Azimio with a group of elected leaders from Northern Kenya.

The other leaders who also denounced Azimio and were elected on the UDM ticket are:

Marsabit Governor Mohamud Ali and Mandera Governor Mohamed Adan Khalif.

Others were Mandera Deputy Governor Ali Maalim, and Wajir Senator Abbas Sheikh.

UDM MPs who also ditched Raila are MPs Umulkheir Kassim (Mandera), Bashir Abdullahi (Mandera North), Kullow Hassan (Banisa), Joseph Lekuton (Laisamis), Mangale Munga Chiforomodo (Lunga Lunga), AbdulEnrahim Haro (Mandera South) and Adan Haji (Mandera West).