Editor's Review

The race has attracted a handful of candidates most of whom are eyeing the UDA party ticket.

The appointment of Kipchumba Murkomen into the Cabinet has now triggered a by-election in Elgeyo Marakwet county.

By the time of his nomination, Murkomen had embarked on his third term as the county's senator.

Murkomen officially resigned from his Senate post on Wednesday, October 26, paving the way for his swearing-in as the Transport CS on Thursday, October 27.

A vacancy in the constituency has since been declared with the mini-poll now slated for January 5, 2023.

The race has attracted a handful of candidates majority of whom are eying the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party ticket.

They include;

  • Dan Kipkorir Rutto
  • William Kimutai Rotich
  • Jesca Kiplagat
  • Anne Jepkokei Cheboi
  • Ken Kigen
  • Jeruto Hilda
  • Ernest Ruto
  • Daniel Murkomen
  • Eliud Kipto Lorpesa
  • William Kipkemoi Sang
  • Jackson Kiptanui Karamai
  • Winnie Jebet Kanda
  • Tim Kipchumba

Kipchumba Murkomen during his swearing-in as Transport CS. Photo: Facebook.

Former governor Alex Tolgos has also thrown his hat in the ring, ready to take on the newbies trying their hand in politics.

Tolgos vied on August 9 on a Jubilee but lost to Murkomen.

Others are Jerotich Seii, George Bett, Francis Chebii, Jeruto Kibet and Noel Cheruiyot.

The candidates have vowed to address the issues that have bedeviled the county for a time, including landslides in the hanging valleys, insecurity occasioned by cattle rustling, teenage pregnancies, and abject poverty among the locals.

Besides Elgeyo Marakwet, by-elections have been scheduled in other elective units namely; Garissa Township and Kandara constituencies.

The by-elections in the two constituencies have also been occasioned by the respective appointments of their members into the Cabinet.

Aden Duale who was elected the Garissa Township MP is the new Defence CS, his Kandara counterpart Alice Wahome taking up the Water docket.