Editor's Review

Ababu Namwamba has revoked the Talanta Hela Council and Technical Committees which had handed a number of local celebrities appointments in government.

Sports Cabinet Secretary Ababu Namwamba has revoked the gazette notice number 1649 of 2023, which had handed a number of local top celebrities appointments in government. 

In a gazette notice dated June 7, Namwamba announced that the earlier notice, which had established the Talanta Hela Council and Technical Committees, has been revoked.

“It is notified for general information of the public that the Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts has revoked Gazette Notice No. 1649 of 2023,” read the notice.

In the earlier notice, CS Namwamba had appointed Kizito Wangalwa, David Langat, Debra Mallowah, Abraham Kipyego Mutai, Charles Gacheru, Claudia Naisabwa Leshomoo, Nobert Ouma, June Chepkemei and Dennis Itumbi as members of the Talanta Hela Council.

File image of CS Ababu Namwamba

Namwamba appointed Carol Radul as the chairperson of the Sports Technical Committee with Boniface Ambani, Julius Yego, Neddy Kutsuru, Alfred Makotsi, Sammy Shollei, Collins Kale, Kevin Mutai, Shilovelo Winna, Daniel Losiru and Staicy Ochieng being members.

Read Also: Dennis Itumbi, Churchill, Akothee And Azziad Among Top Celebrities Handed Plum Gov't Jobs

He also created the Creatives Technical Committee chaired by Daniel Ndambuki. The members of the committee included; Akinyi Odongo, Jimmi Gathu, Catherine Kamau, Esther Akoth, and Kizito Makhande.

Others were; Azziad Nasenya, Rosemary Wahu Kagwi, Awadhi Salim Awadhi, Douglas Kipkirui Mutai, and Susan Ekasiba.

CS Namwamba’s move to revoke the Talanta Hela Council and Technical committees comes weeks after the High Court suspended its implementation pending the hearing and determination of a petition filed in court.