Embu Governor Martin Wambora has been elected as the new Council of Governor's chair replacing Wycliffe Oparanya.

Wambora was elected the new CoG boss after defeating Tana River Governor Godhana Dhadho.

He will be deputized by Governor James Ongwae of Kisii County.

Governor Ongwae takes over from Murang'a Governor Mwangi wa Iria who was the previous office holder.

The two new CoG bosses are serving their last term in office, meaning they'll only head the body for one term.

Meanwhile, Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Alex Tolgos has been elected as the new Chief Whip while Nyeri's Mutahi Kahiga has been elected new chair of the CoG Education Committee. 

According to CoG, the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the council can only serve for a term of one year and are eligible for re-election for one further term of one year. 

Initially, Makueni Governor Kivutha Kibwana and Mwangi wa Iria of Murang'a were interested in the seat but withdrew a few days to the election.

According to Kibwana, his decision to withdraw from the race was influenced by his 2022 presidential ambitions.

"I will not be a candidate for the Council of Governors elections. As a 2022 presidential candidate, I have been advised by my team that serving in the next CoG executive can constitute a conflict of interest. I thank my colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chief Whip," he tweeted.