Editor's Review

The curfew shall be observed from 6.00 pm to 6.00 am for the next 30 days.

Interior CS Dr. Fred Mating’i had announced a fresh dusk to dawn curfew in Baringo, Elgeyo Marakwet and West Pokot counties.

In a gazette notice dated, June 3, the CS noted that the curfew would run for 30 days in bid to restore peace in the disturbed regions.

In Elgeyo Marakwet, the curfew would be observed in Tot, Chesongoch, Tirap, Kapyego, Arror and Chesuman.

In Baringo County, the CS announced that the curfew was to be observed in Tiaty East and Tiaty West, Bartabwa, Ngorora, Kinyach, Sibilo, and Yatia.

Pokot West County shall observe the curfew in Chesegon, Chaptulel, Sekerot, and Masoi which was effective on June 4.

{RCS Matiang'i with other security officials.}

“This order shall apply during the hours of 6.00 pm in the evening and 6.00 am in the morning with effect 4th June, 2022 and shall remain in effect for a period of thirty days,” read the gazette notice.

According to the gazette notice, there would be no public gatherings, processions or movement during the curfew period.

However, Matiang’i said that essential service providers including medical professionals, national security officers, licensed broadcasters, licensed banks, and supermarkets among others were exempted.

The move by Matiang’i comes after he extended the dusk to dawn curfew in Marsabit County to tame the runaway cases of insecurity in the county.